Bag is open

A forum to discuss the arcane art of making uilleann pipes, reeds, and set maintenance.

Moderators: the plod, dropkick

onkel

Bag is open

Post by onkel » Tue Apr 12, 2005 3:46 am

Hi,

I hope this is the right place for my issue. I am a complete newbie to pipes and their maintenance. Anyway, my Sky drones arrived yesterday!

Now, the only problem is, the bag is open! It has a bit of a ...ehm... leak... The seller told me about that problem and sent some Barge glue along which apparently doesn't do the job in this case:

ImageImageImage

Anybody have an idea how to fix this? Try another glue? Sew it? Rivets? Get a new bag? :(
Thanks, Claus

Kevin Popejoy

Post by Kevin Popejoy » Tue Apr 12, 2005 7:27 am

I'm assuming you bought this second hand? Barge is basically a contact cement and as such has a tendency to peel apart with the constant pressure that a pipe bag comes under. The solution I've seen that works well is to use a strip of leather long enough to go all around the seam, and wide enough to fold over the seam. Glue the strip over the seam using contact cement and stitch (or rivet) through all 4 layers to mechanically reinforce the seam. My first inclination however, would be to buy a decent bag from MacHarg. Life's too short for leaky bags.

Kevin

dropkick

Post by dropkick » Tue Apr 12, 2005 8:47 am

Kevin Popejoy wrote: My first inclination however, would be to buy a decent bag from MacHarg. Life's too short for leaky bags.

Kevin
I couldn't agree more. Here is a place to get an Uilleann bag from L&M..

http://www.tartanthistle.com/Bagpipes_p ... _ross.html

Scroll down to the bottom of the page, and you'll see it. It is based on a Seth Gallagher template. I use one of these, and it is 'the bomb'.
There are two ends to every pudding... -Cptn. Jack Aubrey.

http://flojoereeds.com/

the plod
Site Admin
United States of America

Post by the plod » Tue Apr 12, 2005 9:10 am

I'm assuming that the seller is not Pat Sky, right?