bass drone problem

A forum to discuss the arcane art of making uilleann pipes, reeds, and set maintenance.

Moderators: the plod, dropkick

germanpiper

bass drone problem

Post by germanpiper » Thu Aug 23, 2012 8:46 am

Hi everyone,

I have some problems with my bass drone. It always did shut down when I started playing in the second octave so I tried to make it a bit harder by gently flipping the tounge of the reed.
It did help - but now when I start the drones the bass drone isn't playing a D but something between fourth and a fifth above that. Only when I give it short "pressure punch" (quickly pressing the bag hard) it goes down to D.

Any advice? :oops:
Thank you very much.

Mr.Gumby

Re: bass drone problem

Post by Mr.Gumby » Thu Aug 23, 2012 1:15 pm

You may want to try putting a bit of weight on the end of the tongue, a blob of bluetac or wax. The weight will flatten the pitch, sometimes, when enough is added, the reed jumps to a different register altogether. Experiment by adding it bit by bit until the reed jumps back to D again.
My brain hurts

germanpiper

Post by germanpiper » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:05 am

Mr.Gumby wrote:You may want to try putting a bit of weight on the end of the tongue, a blob of bluetac or wax. The weight will flatten the pitch, sometimes, when enough is added, the reed jumps to a different register altogether. Experiment by adding it bit by bit until the reed jumps back to D again.
I tried it and it didn't work. :cry:
So what exactly did I do:
I added a little bit of "bluetac" (ok, it is white here in Germany but almost the same) and the drone stopped playing altogether.
So I removed all of the stuff and something strange happend. Now the drone is much too low, if it plays at all. It seems to me, that the reed is now "too open" and plays only with a lot of pressure.
I am totally confused.

outofthebox

Post by outofthebox » Fri Aug 24, 2012 5:09 am

With drone reeds the aim is to have all three playing at the same easy pressure.