Patrick Sky's "Budget" vs. David Daye Penny

An on-line forum to discuss uilleann pipes

Moderators: the plod, snoogie, dropkick

Hooleh

Patrick Sky's "Budget" vs. David Daye Penny

Post by Hooleh » Mon Jan 02, 2017 4:33 pm

Greetings all,

This is the first time I'm posting here, so apologies if this is a re-post or something. I'm also posting this same message on the Chiff and Fipple UIlleann-forum to see if I can get answers.

Anyways, the time is due I started learning this magnificent instrument and actually purchased a set of pipes of my own instead of always just dreaming about it. I have a backround with whistles, both regular and Low, and I've been familiarising myself with Uilleann Pipes a lot (as much as one can without actually owning a set of pipes), and I even managed to take a lesson in order to learn the basics. That took some work, I can tell you, since there are a total of five or so pipers in my country.

I'm a student, so this is a big financial investment for me, as I'm as tight on money as you can imagine a student to be, so I've pretty much narrowed it down to either buying a used set of pipes, or a new but more affordable one. So far I figure that, even though there are some reasonable offers in used sets, it pays off to have a new set made in order to get support in case something's wrong, doesn't it? Especially in a location such as mine where pipers are as scarce as they are.