Uilleann Pipes chanter fingering chart for ALL!

An on-line forum to discuss uilleann pipes

Moderators: the plod, snoogie, dropkick

pojemotion

Uilleann Pipes chanter fingering chart for ALL!

Post by pojemotion » Wed Oct 10, 2012 9:31 pm

Fellow pipers!

I'm new to the pipes and was in search for a chanter fingering chart when I realized the few available online are terrible, so I wanted to share this chart I made.

You can download it here: http://pojemotion.com/work/Blog/Entries ... Chart.html

Please share and if you find anything wrong or left out, please let me know!

Yours,
Poje

Mr.Gumby

Re: Uilleann Pipes chanter fingering chart for ALL!

Post by Mr.Gumby » Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:42 am

Fair play. Although I don't think the world was exactly deprived of decent fingering charts at all. Everything from the simple printed ones (Crowley, Rowsome, Ennis, DMWC, POPT) to the web based interactive charts.

You may want to consider how fingerings are flexible and can vary a bit from chanter to chanter and depending on the tone colour required.
Last edited by Mr.Gumby on Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
My brain hurts

Mairtin

Post by Mairtin » Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:55 am

Hi,

I am a beginner on the Pipes myself, 2 years....the Chart looks great and all that but it has left me somewhat confused. On the second Octave notes you have the "Top D" finger placement the same as the 2 fingered C. So how is it a "Top D" if it's a C note?.......Chart looks great and so does your other projects, very talented indeed. Good Stuff.

This Chart will surely add to the existing Uilleann finger Charts that are available on the Web.
Last edited by Mairtin on Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby » Thu Oct 11, 2012 6:58 am

So how is it a "Top D" if it's a C note?.......
It isn't. In the high octave the chanter plays third d using that fingering.
My brain hurts

Mairtin

Post by Mairtin » Thu Oct 11, 2012 7:02 am

Mr.Gumby wrote: