2nd octave problem

An on-line forum to discuss uilleann pipes

Moderators: the plod, snoogie, dropkick

seamusg

2nd octave problem

Post by seamusg » Fri Jun 08, 2012 10:34 am

Hello everyone,

I am a total newbie and apologise in advance if this topic has been thrashed to death elsewhere in the forum (I must confess I only had a cursory look).
I have a practice set which sounds great in the hands of an expert player, however I seem to have to work incredibly hard to get onto the second octave (E not too difficult but then it gets harder if I want to go to eg high G). My bag needs to be at bursting point and I seem to need to instinctively employ the "death grip" (I laughed when I read that term as I can really identify with it) when going "Up" the octave.
I know this can be down to reed issues but am assuming that it may have a lot to do with me, so to get to the point, has anyone any advice - from a purely playing/style perspective on making a smoother, less physically strenuous transition to the second octave?

Thanks in advance,

- Seamus

djm

Re: 2nd octave problem

Post by djm » Sat Jun 09, 2012 4:05 am