Uilleann Pipes wood, mounts, and tone

An on-line forum to discuss uilleann pipes

Moderators: the plod, snoogie, dropkick

WyattKPauls

Uilleann Pipes wood, mounts, and tone

Post by WyattKPauls » Mon Apr 23, 2012 1:00 am

Hello everyone,

I'm from Oregon, and wanting to learn to play the Uilleann pipes.
Now I am wondering if myrtlewood is a good option for a pipes set.
What defines a wood as either usable or non-useable for a set of uilleann pipes? Could myrtlewood even be used? I have been researching, and would either want to get a set in cocobolo/antler or ebony/some-other-mount, so far as i can tell.
Anyways, I'm new to this and i'm just asking questions out there.
Is anyone else here from Oregon?
I've narrowed it down to about six specific makers that i could like to choose from:
Marc Van Daal (I like his style)
Evertjan t' hart (I like how he plays the pipes and his pipes look well-made, but there's not a lot of info)
Martin Preshaw (I like the fact he has great sound samples on his webpage)
Bill Haneman (he makes good pipes, and i appreciate the research and effort he's put into them)
Alan Burton and Geoff Wyatt (just seem like good solid makers of uilleann pipes)
Tim Benson and Stephanie Cornielius (They like in the USA, unlike the other makers)

Any recomendations or comments or anything really.

Wyatt
Last edited by WyattKPauls on Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

djm

Re: Uilleann Pipes wood, mounts, and tone

Post by djm » Mon Apr 23, 2012 6:25 am

It is wood density that generally determines the tonal qualities of the wood. I'm not familiar with myrtlewood, but if it is of a density similar to cocobolo (rosewood), ebony or African blackwood then you should be okay. I doubt if any pipemaker has a store of suitably dried myrtlewood on hand, so if you want to go ahead with this you will probably have to supply the maker with sufficient material for the set.

djm
Sex and drugs and uilleann pipes

MichaelLoos