How many pipers are there in the world?

An on-line forum to discuss uilleann pipes

Moderators: the plod, snoogie, dropkick

mallin

How many pipers are there in the world?

Post by mallin » Sat Oct 01, 2011 4:06 pm

I'm just getting started on the pipes. One of the more interesting questions friends have asked me, aside from "what the hell is that?", is "how many people play that instrument?" It got me thinking.

How many people on the planet are actively either playing or learning the uilleann pipes? Would it be possible to arrive at a rough number from adding up the number of registrations at all of the big tionols, allowing some adjustments for overlap and non-attendance? Has someone already done this? Or can anyone make an educated guess? Does it really matter? (so many questions...)

LiamO'Flynn

Re: How many pipers are there in the world?

Post by LiamO'Flynn » Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:51 pm

There are 6000 pipers in the world.

Liam
Liam O'Flynn the plumber not the piper .

Mr.Gumby

Post by Mr.Gumby » Tue Jul 10, 2012 7:38 pm

Pipers or people who own pipes?
My brain hurts

outofthebox

Post by outofthebox » Wed Jul 11, 2012 4:34 am

I think that if someone can play one tune - however simple - then he/she qualifies as a piper in my book. Thankfully there are no certificates of competency required - at least not yet 8)

djm

Post by djm » Wed Jul 11, 2012 8:17 am

Sex and drugs and uilleann pipes

PJ

Post by PJ » Wed Jul 11, 2012 2:38 pm

djm wrote:42
Now you've done it. The question and answer will cancel eachout out and take everything with them. The pipes as we know them will then be replaced by something vastly more complex and incomprehensible ... or has this happened already :?:
PJ

maki

Post by maki » Fri Jul 13, 2012 4:08 pm

djm wrote:42
The answer is now 42.1!!!
My only regret is not making more mistakes.

djm

Post by djm » Sat Jul 14, 2012 6:33 am

maki wrote:The answer is now 42.1!!!