Plastic Bags

An on-line forum to discuss uilleann pipes

Moderators: the plod, snoogie, dropkick

patsky

Plastic Bags

Post by patsky » Wed Sep 03, 2008 5:23 pm

After a few leters back and forth concerning the problems presented by the leather bags I decide to wrote a note supporting the use of Vynal plastic bags sometimes called Naugahyde.

I have been playing the pipes for over 30 years and have used plastic bags for most of that time. I find that leather bags are expensive, leaky and prone to rot. The best thing to do with a leaky bag, leather or plastic, is to throw it in the trash and get a good bag.
Filling the bag with gook such as grease and wax just make a mess and will eventually destroy the leather.

Back in the early 1970’s I made a “Naugahyde” bag for Seamus Ennis. Total cost …3 pounds. Seamus loved it and joked about hunting the elusive Nauga. He used that bag until he died in the early 1980’s.

A few months later I instructed Paddy Keenan and His father, in Donahughe’s Pub” how to make a plastic bag. Paddy uses plastic bags to this day.

The point is that one can make a bag with one yard of material and a tube of “Barge” cement, for under $15.00. The bag will last up to 10 years and is completely leak proof and air tight.

Tip one…. If you insist on a leather bag, be sure and use a bag cover because the sweat from you arm will build a base of grease and salt that is a bacteria’s dream; guaranteed to rot.

Tip two…if you insist on a leather bag make sure that it does not leak at all…if it does send it back.

In the meantime give the old plastic bag a try.

All the best,
Pat Sky

PJ

Post by PJ » Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:02 pm

I've had bad experiences with vinyl both in bags and bellows. I prefer the look and feel of leather for bellows and suede for bags.